Psalm 30

God’s Anger is Momentary

‘Sing to the Lord, all you godly ones!
Praise his holy name.
For his anger lasts only a moment,
but his favor lasts a lifetime!
Weeping may last through the night,
but joy comes with the morning.’ – vs. 4-5

God is so beautifully gracious. When He is angry, it is but for a moment. God doesn’t hold bitterness in His heart against me. On the cross, Jesus took the ‘moment’ of God’s anger against my sin. God took out all His anger at the sins of the entire world on Jesus hanging on the cross. Jesus bore the punishment that I deserved so that I need not bear it myself. Because of Jesus, I can live in the favour of God our Father. Jesus’ sorrow and suffering on the cross has brought me joy, peace and gladness.

When I am angry or frustrated with people or situations in my life, I need to look at the cross. I need to remember how much it cost God to not be angry with me. I need to be reminded of the love, compassion and grace that He showed to me through Jesus. May I show grace as I have been shown grace. May my momentary discomforts be outweighed by the joy of the grace I have been shown. Amen.

Leave a comment